menu bar

Visitor Information

General Information
Library Hours
Traveling to Bancroft
The Bancroft Gallery

Using Bancroft Materials

Reading Room Conditions of Use
Online Collections Conditions of Use
Bancroft Material Request Form
Handling Materials
Off-site Collections
Personal Camera Use Policy
Duplication Services
Resources for Faculty
Audio and Video Resources
Frequently Asked Questions

About The Bancroft Library

Grant Projects
Fellowships/Prizes Awardees
The Hubert Howe Bancroft Award
Donating Collections
Social Media
California History Lectures
Video Presentations
2005-2008 Seismic Retrofit

Contact Information


UCB Library Catalogs

Bancroft Library Finding Aids
Guide to Library Catalogs

The Hubert Howe Bancroft Award

Presented by the Friends of The Bancroft Library, the Hubert Howe Bancroft Award honors individuals for their "significant achievements in support of historical research and scholarship and in the preservation of ephemera and memorabilia." The Hubert Howe Bancroft Award is presented at the Annual Meeting of the Friends of The Bancroft Library and recipients are presented with a proclamation and a miniature bust of Hubert Howe Bancroft.

The resolution passed by the Friends of The Bancroft Library to establish the award reads, in part,

Whereas, it is appropriate for the Friends of The Bancroft Library to recognize significant achievements in support of historical research and scholarship on California and the American West, in the preservation of primary and secondary source materials about the region, and in the interpretation and imaginative re-creation of its history, and

Whereas, Hubert Howe Bancroft was an exemplary figure in the field of historical scholarship, in the collection of primary source materials, and in the scope and depth of his historical writings, and,

Whereas, Hubert Howe Bancroft was the founder and namesake of The Bancroft Library, now,

Therefore, be it resolved, that an appropriate award is hereby authorized and created to recognize from time to time contributions to history and its preservation consonant with the tradition established by Hubert Howe Bancroft, and,

Be it further resolved, that this award be named the Hubert Howe Bancroft Award.

The Hubert Howe Bancroft Award Recipients

2015 Maxine Hong Kingston
Author and Senior Lecturer for Creative Writing at UC Berkeley
2014 Rose Marie Beebe and Robert M. Senkewicz
Professors at Santa Clara University
2013 Wayne Thiebaud
Painter and Professor of Art, UC Davis
2012 Leon F. Litwack
Professor of American History Emeritus, UC Berkeley
2011 Charles B. Faulhaber
Director Emeritus, The Bancroft Library
2010 W. Michael Mathes
Historian of Spain, Mexico, and Baja California
2009 The Lane Family
Sunset magazine
2008 Malcolm Margolin
Founder and Publisher of Heyday Books
2007 Isabel Allende
2006 Joan Didion
2005 Kevin Starr
Historian and California State Librarian
2004 William Barlow
Book Collector, Bibliographer, Bibliophile
2003 Bernard M. Rosenthal
Book Seller and Scholar
2002 John L. Heilbron
Historian of Science and Vice Chancellor Emeritus, UC Berkeley
2001 Willa Baum
Oral Historian
2000 J.S. Holliday
Historian and Author
1998 Jean Stone
Editor and Philanthropist
1997 Michael Harrison
Collector of Western Americana

| Bancroft Home | General Information | Collections | Research Programs |
| Reference and Access Services | News, Events, Exhibitions, Publications |
| Friends of The Bancroft Library | Site Map | Search The Bancroft Library Website |
| UC Berkeley Library Home | Catalogs | Search the Library Website |
Copyright (C) 2013 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved.
Document maintained by The Bancroft Library.
Last update 10/28/10. Server manager: Contact
The Bancroft Library Homepage (link) News, Events, Exhibitions, Publications (link) Reference and Access Services (link) Research Programs (link) Collections (link) Friends of Bancroft (link)